One of the articles that I read was My Journey Teaching Through Passion-Based Learning.  This article got my brain working.  There was so much about this article that I agreed with but never knew how to put into words.  The author, Ainissa Ramirez, speaks partway through the article about two ways to get a child passionate about something.  Her first way was “Find out what each child is innately passionate about.”   And her second was “Be an instructor that exudes passion for the topic, and infect your students with that excitement.”  The latter of the two I am very passionate about.  Excitement is contagious.  Children learn passion at a young age and bringing passion into the classroom is an easy way to keep students involved.  If a student is enjoying what he or she is learning, they are more likely to retain what they are learning.

Photo CC- By Katie Phillips
Photo CC- By Katie Phillips

My Journey Teaching Through Passion-Based Learning

http://www.edutopia.org/blog/passion-based-learning-ainissa-ramirez

Now, let me reflect properly on the article “School Vs. Learning” by George Couros.  I understand the concept of Mr. Couros’ ideas.  I understand that in ways, school is restricting, and also tends to strip the true meaning of learning.  Schools often times can put students into a pattern, not allowing them to be trained in the idea of “anything can happen at any given time.”  But I can also say that to some students, patterns and order are a necessity.  To some children, we need order and schedules.  This can be argued in several different directions, because just as many students that need patterns, need freedom to learn. George Couros made some very valid points in his article, but I also could strike up a lot of arguments when it came to his article.  All due respect or course, I don’t believe that school is as bad as he argues.  Yes, there are many things that we should learn from this article and incorporate into our classrooms, especially when it comes to allowing students to explore and learn on their own.  Often times we guide too much.  Allow enough room for them to do their own work, but stay within arm’s reach of them.  There ARE many learning habits that should trump the “school habits.”  But there are also a lot of good habits that come with school.  I think that this article was a great read and in many ways, it made me have an open mind.

“School Vs. Learning”

http://georgecouros.ca/blog/archives/4974

One thought on “A Reflection on Passion-Based Learning

  1. Truly if we show enthusiasm, it is contagious. I had second graders asking me when they would get to code sentences again… Seriously, “Mrs. Pinney, when do we get to do another coding worksheet?!” (Really, I thought, what is wrong with these kids! Just kidding!) I loved their enthusiasm, but I realized it was because I turned on the enthusiasm when we got to that part of our day. This was initially because it was late in the day and we had some eight year old meltdowns the first few weeks of school during this subject. It was amazing, those same kids that held meltdowns were the ones asking when they got to do another exercise late in the school year. Mission accomplished! I can’t wait to see what their Third Grade teacher says next year!

    Like

Leave a Reply

