I’ve spent a lot of time viewing different digital storybooks and listening to several podcasts. I enjoyed the digital stories, but I think I would have enjoyed them more if I could have found one that interested me more.  They are fascinating and amazing to think how much work goes into creating a digital story.  Sewing together each clip to make a smooth sailing story.  I listened to a couple of episodes of the “Serial” podcast and I was hooked.  I am a book nerd and love listening to audio books when I travel.  I personally enjoy listening without having a picture in front of my face.  It forces a person to create their own image.

There are benefits and downfalls to using both podcasts and digital storybooks in the classroom.  When it comes to podcasts, not all students can listen and stay focused without having the material in front of them.  On the other end of things, finding a podcast series would be a great way to keep students motivated and excited about listening.   Using digital storybooks in the classroom can be great because they are fascinating to watch and fun to learn these people’s stories.  However, on the other hand, it is not as creative to have students watch a video with audio attached.  It can be a bit like spoon feeding.  But in the end, we all know that not all students learn the same way and that not all lessons are one hundred percent comfortable for students, and a class should not be deprived of a great opportunity because of the different learning styles.  If a student is truly struggling at understanding or following a podcast, the teacher could allow the student to listen at a different time, with headphones on, where it is much easier to focus.

One of the things that I took away from reading/watching/listening to these articles is the amount of energy and effort that go into them.  So creative and what a wonderful way to link technology with schoolwork.  I also enjoyed these podcasts and plan on researching more to listen to, and maybe even getting ideas of podcasts I can show to my future students!

2 thoughts on “A Reflection on Podcasts and Digital Storybooks.

  1. I bring up some extremely valuable points throughout your text! I like you idea in regards to utilizing headphones if a child is having difficulty. GrEat Job!

    Like

  2. I love the idea of having students listen with headphones. I actually think it would be interesting to have all students listen with headphones one day and see how their reactions differ to various points in the story. I like the variety this can add to the classroom and hope that it will add some engagement to students who struggle to “try.”

    Like

Leave a Reply

