We are into week two of my attempt to teach myself guitar.  To be honest, this week has been much harder than last.  I graduated from learning the strings and small things like such.  I am attempting to learn the chords and I’ve run into a slight snag.  I have itty bitty, tiny hands.  I need to find some fantastic finger stretches to relax my hands.  But don’t be fooled.  I have not given up and I will not use these small hands be an excuse.  Small children can play guitar, then so can I.  Right?

Right.  I am determined to master this art someway or another. I have purchased a beginner’s book for guitar.  This week I kept becoming frustrated with myself when I was practicing guitar.  I had to sit down and give myself a pep talk.  And then I reminded myself that this is going to be a process.  I have a tendency to expect things to come easily to me.  This often isn’t the case and sometimes I forgot that.  I forget that most of the time a person has to spend many hours learning one simple task.  When it comes to learning the guitar, there are a lot of little aspects that make up the big picture.  I need to slow down and learn these little aspects instead of opening a piece of music and expecting my guitar to play music.

So after that internal debate with myself, I told myself that I am going to take a different approach to this project.  I need to have a goal of the big picture, but not be overly focused on the big picture. I need to allow myself to focus on the small details (such as learning one chord at a time until it is comfortable, and then moving to the next.) Even if this is frustrating and time consuming, I know that it is going to better in the long run.  I know that if I continue on the path I was on, I would end up in the same place as years ago when I tried to learn guitar.   I am going to break this project down even more, into tiny segments until I can comfortably complete each portion.

5 thoughts on “Week Two on My Independent Learning Project: Sigh.

  1. I’m so glad to see that I’m not the only person struggling with my independent learning project. I also ran into problems with having such small hands, and not being able to stretch them the way they needed. There are some really good YouTube videos that have stretches for guitar, piano, and just for working on finger flexibility. I also have learned that its best to break things down into smaller goals, and that sometimes its best to master all of the basics before moving up in complexity.

    Like

  2. It sounds like you are doing everything you can to help yourself on your learning journey. I know there are a lot of videos on youtube about learning to play guitar that could help. There are also apps that help you master basic strings before you even touch a guitar. I wish you luck on your mastering the guitar journey!

    Like

Leave a Reply

