For my independent learning project, I thought it would not only be a good idea to learn the guitar to challenge myself, but also to use my knowledge to be able to apply to my future job.  But to be brutally honest, I am at a stand still. Stuck in the mud.  I have watched videos, read articles and books, I have had a friend attempt to help me.  To my own defense, I am much further than I expected to be, and I AM making progress.  (Sort of.) But I am still frustrated at how slow the process is.  I am sure this may sound redundant and whiny, but I am struggling with how long this is taking me to learn.  Granted, I am busy, and I am distracted at times, but that is not a good excuse.  I need to be more understanding.  I have gone from only knowing about the physical guitar itself, and knowing the concept of playing, to now being able to play small bits at a time.  (Not melodically, rhythmic, or easy to listen to, but I can pluck a chord out when need be.)

One thing I want to continue on bettering myself in is being able to memorize the chords.  I want to learn all of the notes and finger formations for each common chord.  I’ve downloaded a game that is similar to flashcards.  It tells you a chord and you place the fingering formations where they should be, it tells you if you are right or wrong, and gives you a chance to fix what you’ve done wrong.  This is what I have spent my last week working on.  I have put up the guitar and gotten out the pen and paper (and Kindle.)  I am going to devote some time learning the chords so that having to read them becomes natural.

So beyond the mumble-jumble, I will close with a positive thought.  I am learning something new on top of all of the other things going on in my life, and that is pretty awesome.  I am proud and excited to be able to test my skills, patience, and time management skills.  I am grateful that I have this opportunity to learn something new.  I am grateful that I have my own guitar, that I have a Kindle to do research on, and I am grateful for this project.

16 thoughts on “Independent Learning Project. Ouch.

  1. I think its awesome that you choose to learn guitar! I have attempted it once, didnt get it right away and never tried again… I think this is something that would take awhile to really learn so any progress is great! Keep it up! 🙂

    Like

  2. I am a little relieved that I am not the only one struggling this week. The flashcard chords sound like a great way to memorize chords…and give your finger tips a break. I can imagine that they are sore! I loved to hear your expressions of gratitude. I think that we have so much to be grateful for and often take it for granted. Keep up the good work.

    Like

  3. Sometimes knowing the books and the basics is the best place to start. That’s one reason it took me so long to pick up the violin and try my hand. I wanted to be able to know what I was holding, where and how so I didn’t look like a total buffoon.:-)

    Like

  4. Keep thinking positive and working hard and good things will happen! Its so hard with such busy lifestyles to actually learn something like playing guitar (its difficult, I’ve tried as well)! I hope you continue to work on it and have success!

    Like

Leave a Reply

