Reading is fun.

Donalyn Miller’s classroom sounds like a positive environment that I would like to be involved in.  I think that often times children get the idea that reading is not fun.  They often feel like it is “nerdy” or “lame”.  First of all, that makes me horribly sad.  Second, I feel like the right guidance and the right encouragement would teach students how fun reading is.  From the sounds of it, Miller is that kind of encourager.  It takes a special kind of personality to be able to read aloud to a class and engage most, if not all, students. I don’t think that some people realize how important it is to begin instilling good reading habits into children at a young age.  One thing that I can recall from my elementary school days is that looking back now, I don’t understand why teachers use reading as a punishment.  How frustrating is that? If you make something feel like punishment, it is going to become less and less enjoyable.  Miller makes sure to keep reading light and entertaining, instead of dull.

Donalyn Miller makes reading fun for students.  I would love to be able to be that teacher for at least one student.  I know and fully expect to have at least that one student who will defy me. Who will “hate” reading just because the rest of us like it.  And after reading Miller’s responses to some of the questions people had about stubborn students, I realize that being stubborn and obstinate may only be the beginning of this student’s problems.  People have a tendency (and I am guilty at times too) to shut out and give up on those obstinate students.  I have to remind myself that there is likely a problem deeper than just constant stubbornness.  Thanks to Donalyn Miller, my determination has been restored.

Leave a Reply

