I love to read.

With full credit going to this class, I am learning to be more open about what I read.  Yes, I will read anything someone recommends to me, and yes I usually love everything I read.  The problem is that I don’t usually stray from my personal reading list unless someone coaxes me away.  I’m not sure why, because as I’ve stated before, I usually enjoy what I read.  The problem is that I am one that follows a rhythm.  I like patterns and traditions and schedules and MY little book world.  But let me stop there.  I know it isn’t fair of me to deprive myself of these wonderful books I walk right passed.  But I am a sucker for classic literature from before my time.  I know, I know, I need to “get out of my comfort zone.”

So here goes. Being in a class that has required me to read specific books has made me open minded about books. (Cue the light bulb.)

When we read the books that hit deeper in the heart (“The Poet Slave of Cuba” is one I have  in mind) I learned that reading sad books is good for the soul.  Especially for children.  It sort of snaps you back into reality and reminds you (or me at least) of how blessed I am and how grateful we should all be.

Another thing that this class has taught me is to appreciate the illustrations more.  I love the upper elementary books because they are more detailed to read.  However, I am growing very fond of picture books.  The vast variety of styles is phenomenal.  Reading picture books, you will never get bored!!

This class has bettered me as a reader.

7 thoughts on “Reflecting on Myself as a Reader: (Scary!)

  1. Reading sad books is so good for the soul and it sure does take you back to reality pretty quick. It also makes me realize how blessed I am and how thing we take for granted can be gone in a blink of an eye. They sure are tear jerkers though!

    Like

  2. I love the variety in children’s literature. So many goofy, fun picture books and also so many heartfelt, deep chapter books for older readers or read-alouds. For me, becoming a teacher really enriches my reading life. I had to explore outside my comfort zone to be sure I knew the right books to recommend to students with very different reading interests. And I’ve made so many discoveries of types of books I love that I never would have realized otherwise.

    Like

  3. I’m with you–getting out of your comfort zone can be a hard thing to do! I have enjoyed that this class has made me read different genres…I’ve discovered that I like almost everything I have read, and the books that I have not enjoyed so much…well, my kids have! So, that makes me realize that reading children’s literature is not “all about me.” It will not only better me as a reader, it will make me more prepared for the diversified interests of my future students! Isn’t that a great perk? 🙂

    Like

  4. I am also finding that this class has made me more aware of, and more willing to try, someone else’s recommendations! I’m quick to recommend a book, but not so willing to try someone’s favorite that isn’t in my “reading bubble”.
    I was very pleasantly surprised that I enjoyed and liked “The Graveyard Book” by Neil Gaiman so much. It is one of the detailed chapter books and it won a Newbery Medal. However, I’d never pick it out for myself.

    What would you recommend within “your reading bubble” for others?
    What is the best recommendation that you’ve read this semester so far?

    Like

Leave a Reply

