So many holes…

Last week, I read “Holes” by Louis Sachar.  I chose this book because I am starting in on my “Top 100 Children’s Novels” and it was on the beginning of the list. I had already read numbers one through four and the fifth book (“From The Mixed Up Files of Mrs. Basil E. Frankenweiler”) was already checked out from my public library.  So I resorted to number six.  “Holes” is a great book. I had seen the movie when I was younger and so I was afraid that the book would be ruined for me but it wasn’t.  I enjoy the way that Sachar wrote the book.  It is about a young boy named Stanley Yelnats (very comical) that runs into trouble with the law and is sent to a camp called “Camp Green Lake”.  To build character, the young boys are forced to dig holes every day.  Although this book was tiring and hit on a realistic situation, it was funny.  The names of the characters and the descriptions were fun.

This book is a must read. Even if you have already watched the movie, pick up the book and read it.

8 thoughts on “It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

  1. I used that same selection process and read “Holes” this week as well! I had also seen the movie prior but I wanted an experience through the pages. I loved that vast assortment of characters throughout the novel! This would be a great addition to any classroom library.

    Like

  2. I have read Holes many times as part of a 6th grade English class I have supported. I didn’t read it as a kid, so coming at it with fresh, adult eyes was interesting. You are so correct in saying that the nicknames and descriptions add so much to his work.
    I haven’t read anything else by him. Have you read others?

    Like

  3. This book sounds interesting. I have never read the book or seen the movie but in the 6th grade I am observing is reading it. Their teacher suggested it to me. Thanks for sharing.

    Like

  4. The book is a lot more better at portraying the themes, but you should still give the movie a try once you finish it. I think they are pretty dead on in the description of the desert and such. Although, I say that the book is overall better because I just imagine the vastness and weirdness of this place. You don’t know whats going to happen to the main character in the book, but you know that Shay Lebuff as an actor, means that he’s going to have a nice ending.

    Like

Leave a Reply

