The Little Princess

This week, I read “The Little Princess” by Francis Hodgson Burnett.  I chose this book because I had always loved the story and movie and wanted to read the book.  It is on my list of Top 100 Children’s Novels so I thought it was fitting. It is a story of a young girl named Sara that has a wild imagination.  Her father is in the military and so she is sent to boarding school at a young age.  This is a heartbreaking but beautiful story.  I think that this story would give young kids the motivation to be strong and resilient.  At this boarding school she goes from being treated like a princess to being treated as a slave.  This is a definite must reed to anybody that wants their heart to be confused.

This book is an old classic book to me.  It is another one of those books that hits hard to your heart.  It is funny and witty at times, but it is so so sad.  Francis Hodgson Burnett created a beautiful world and a beautiful girl.  The story of this book is written more for upper elementary aged children, possibly even middle school ( in my opinion) but I also think it would be a great book to be read aloud to middle elementary aged students.

Please read this book, it is phenomenal.

3 thoughts on “What Are You Reading?

  1. Wow, that would be a struggle to go from being treated like a princess to a slave. She had to overcome a lot of adversity. This sounds like a great book for middle school aged kids. I think life lesson books are always great to read and share with others.

    Like

Leave a Reply

