The Hatchet

This week, I read “The Hatchet” by Gary Paulsen. The plot of this book could leave children slightly frightened. The idea of being lost in the wilderness of Canada, all alone.

This book is about a boy named Brian who is struggling with personal issues at home.  He takes a flight to visit his father in Alaska.  He is the lone survivor when the plane crashes.  He is forced to fend for himself and keep himself alive in the wilderness.  Between natural disasters and fighting off animals, Brian becomes uneasy and fights the feeling that he will never be saved.   Although at times he wanted to give up, he became so strong and his survival instincts save his life.  He teaches himself to hunt (sort of) and fish.

I will not spoil the ending for you, because if you have not read this book, I highly recommend that you do so.

This book was motivating, tiresome, stressful, brilliant, and uniquely written.  I loved the way that Paulsen would write some of his sentences in short phrases. Sometimes only one word. Just a repetitive word.  This acted as Brian’s thoughts and how he was bouncing back and forth with a running mind.

I did love this book, and I am slightly ashamed that I didn’t read it when I was younger.

6 thoughts on “It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

  1. I did read this book when I was younger and I WANTED to be stranded somewhere to learn to survive – I know! Looking back on it now, this is not the type of adventure than anyone hopes for. I just read a post from someone else this week that talked about how the third book in this series is basically an alternate ending to the prior books because Gary Paulsen received as many as 200 letters a day! Definitely makes me want to read more of his books. Do you think you will?

    Like

  2. Hatchet looks like a good book, and I think I should read it sometime! It kind of reminds me of another story I read earlier, “The Sign of the Beaver,” which was also about a boy on his own in the wilderness. I would recommend it to you if you liked Hatchet.

    Like

Leave a Reply

