It started with a peach.

This last week, I read “James and the Giant Peach” by Roald Dahl.  I have always loved Roald Dahl’s work.  This book did not disappoint.

It is about a young boy named James who is orphaned when his parents get killed in an unusual accident.  He is sent to live with his two cruel aunts.  To say they treated him poorly would be the understatement of a lifetime.  However, things begin to look up when he discovers a piece of magic.  Talking insects and wild imaginations included.  James and his crew of insect and spider friends set off on a journey to reach his destination dream of New York.  Did I mention that their mode of transportation was a giant peach?

A fabulous story with a fabulous ending.  I loved this book and it is nothing less than a Roald Dahl book.  Such imagination was put into this book and many strange incidents allowed this story to be fun.  This book would definitely hit the spot for somebody that likes to open up their mind a little bit.  Use your imagination and just let loose.

5 thoughts on “It’s Monday. What Are You Reading?

  1. I love “James and the Giant Peach”! Well… the movie. I haven’t read the book! I’m disappointed in myself. I haven’t read any of Roald Dahl’s books yet, but I always like the movie adaptations of his books! It has been put on my to-read list now!

    Like

  2. Roald Dahl has an amazing ability to make you feel peril as a child, but also wonder and mystery. The book actually scared me a bit as a kids, also it was banned for a reason unknown to me until I was much older. This is a great book though.

    Like

  3. I have attempted to read the majority of Roald Dahl’s work. Thus far, I believe I have read six of his books. I can’t seem to get enough of his writing abilities! Additionally, I loved this particular selection as well; even better than the movie! Thank you for sharing!

    Like

Leave a Reply

