It is a hard life being a mouse…

This past week I began reading “Mrs. Frisby and the Rats of NIMH” by Robert C. O’Brien.  I must be honest, I did not finish the book yet so I cannot completely comment on the plot.  The book is about a family of field mice that live in a garden on a farm.  The father mouse, Jonathon Frisby, died a while ago leaving his widow, Mrs. Frisby and their four children alone on the farm.  The story is a bit stressful because the troubles that the Frisby’s go through are realistic to what a mouse family really would go through.  It is sad to me because of how hard their lives are on the farm while the humans are portrayed as having it so easy.  Me being the animal lover I am loves that this book is all about the animals.

I am hoping o finish this book within the next couple of days.I am roughly halfway done and the plot is getting exciting. It is almost moving day and that means the Frisbys must move across the field to their summer home. A very dangerous task.

2 thoughts on “It’s Monday. What Are You Reading?

  1. I too read “Mrs. Frisby and the rats of NIMH” and described it as a particularly interesting and unique story. The author possessed the ability to grab your undivided attention within the first page; keeping it until the very end. Another aspect to the book that was extremely appealing was the incorporation of ink drawings throughout. I’m glad you’re reading it as I think this would be a great addition to any classroom library!

    Like

  2. I did a Newbery challenge a few years ago but didn’t come close to finishing all the winners. I decided to save Mrs Frisby for my very last book, so maybe eventually I will get to read it–after I’ve read all the other winners!

    Like

Leave a Reply

