Technology at its finest.

I thought that this concept of Skyping with authors is such a neat idea. It is a way to get students excited about reading and meeting “famous people.”

One thing about this article that I found fascinating was the section titled “All The World’s a Stage.” What a cool concept! I would have loved to learn geography via Skype when I was a kid.  It is definitely an idea that I would use if I become an upper elementary classroom teacher. I didn’t travel much as a kid but I was always fascinated with the idea of traveling and I’ve always loved learning about other cultures and other places.  I think that it is so true that this would be an excellent opportunity for students to learn when they are unable to travel.  This “Skyping Renaissance” is a great movement and I think that it is such a great tool for the classroom.

I have a list a mile long of authors I would want to meet.  Some of them are no longer alive, yet they are still blessing us with their work.  I would definitely be honored to meet William Faulkner.  Roald Dahl, Jane Austen, Robert Frost, Sir Arthur Conan Doyle, J.K. Rowling, Stephen King, and the list goes on.  Since many of them would be impossible to meet, I would settle for any of them.  I would be honored to be able to pick the brain of any author though.  I would not be picky and I would love it no matter who it was!!

4 thoughts on “Skyping With Authors

  1. It’s great to read of some positives as it pertains to technology. I think that Skyping within the classroom is such a fantastic idea! It really does allow the user an endless opportunity at accessing the world. I feel that this sort of technique would prove to be inspiring in regards to education for the students as well. Thank you for sharing!

    Like

  2. Skype is another one of those amazing technological tools that opens up so many opportunities for students. By meeting a particular author and reading their book, students could really form a solid connection. Good post!

    Like

  3. I’m glad that Kate Messner maintains an updated list of authors who Skype for free. I think it’s a wonderful way to connect kids with authors and illustrators and other classrooms. I’d love to try Mystery Skype sometime. If you’re interested in using Skype, definitely check out Pernille Ripp’s blog. She has a lot of posts about cool ways of using Skype and connecting with others outside the classroom.

    Like

Leave a Reply

