Intriguing…

After reading the blog posts about the Mock Caldecott, I realize that this project would be a huge commitment.  To be honest, I would not undertake this in my first (or first few) years of teaching.  However, after having the project carefully planned out, I would LOVE to do something similar.  I think that it is great that he made the medal image a competition.  It would likely make the students motivated.  It would also make students read more.  Although it would be a large project to do it the way that this teacher did, I think it would be educational and thoroughly enjoyable.

After reading Mr. Shu’s list of nominees, I had a hard time narrowing it to my top three. However, number one was an easy pick for me.

3.   “Float” by Daniel Miyares.  This  book looks beautiful and I love the illustrations on the cover.

2.”Toys Meet Snow” by Emily Jenkins and illustrated by Paul O. Zelinsky.  This is another book that I would like to see on my desk waiting for me to crack open.  The idea of toys meeting snow brings out my inner child.

My number one choice is…

“Whisper” Pamela Zagarenski. So incredibly creative and I beautiful!

2 thoughts on “Mock Newbery and Caldecott

  1. I was pleasantly surprised by the idea of a Mock Caldecott! I feel as though it could be rather difficult to implement and possibly time consuming to complete, however the benefits would far outweigh the hardships. While providing the students with a laundry list of beneficial reads, in the end, students will also possess the skills of critical reading and evaluating the text that of which they read; something that each student can carry with them for the remainder of their lives. Thank you for sharing!

    Like

  2. I think this is just the kind of project that engages students in real thinking and learning–and also builds some seriously committed readers! So I would encourage you to consider doing it in your classroom even if you don’t have the details worked out.

    Like

Leave a Reply

